About Us

The Board


The Company has an outstanding, experienced non-executive Board comprising four Independent Directors and three directors from the Investment Advisor, Prestbury Investments. The Directors have a wealth of experience in real estate, corporate finance, tax and capital markets. The Board is chaired by Martin Moore, together with Leslie Ferrar, Jonathan Lane and Ian Marcus as Independent Directors.

Further information about the board, including the expertise and experience of the Independent Directors is below.

Martin Moore

(Independent Non-Executive Chairman)

Martin Moore, 63, MRICS, is a Chartered Surveyor who served as CEO of M&G Real Estate Limited (previously Prudential Property Investment Managers Limited) from 1996 to 2012. During that time, he ran the team and was responsible for setting strategy that grew the business in the UK and led to the establishment of platforms in North America, Continental Europe and Asia. He retired as Chairman of M&G Real Estate in 2013. He is Senior Independent Non-Executive director of Segro Plc, a non-executive director of F&C Commercial Property Trust Ltd, a senior adviser to KKR and Chairman of the Guildhall School Trust. He is a past President and board member of the British Property Federation, a past Chairman of the Investment Property Forum and was a Commissioner of The Crown Estate for eight years to 2011

Mike Brown

(Non-Executive Director)

Mike Brown, 58, BSc (Land Man) MRICS, is Chief Executive Officer of Prestbury Investments LLP, Investment Adviser to the Group. A Chartered Surveyor with 35 years’ experience, he joined Prestbury in 2009 at the time of the flotation of Max Property Group Plc, a limited life opportunity fund which was sold to Blackstone in August 2014. Previously he was Deputy Chief Executive of Helical Bar Plc with responsibility for all their investment and trading activities from 1998 to 2009, and a Director of Threadneedle Property Fund Managers, running their largest property fund from 1992 to 1998. Mike is also Chairman of the Property Advisory Committee to Weybourne Partners.

Leslie Ferrar

(Independent Non-Executive Director, Audit Committee Chair)

Leslie Ferrar, 64, CVO, FCA, BSc, is Non-Executive Chairman of The Risk Advisory Group and a member of the Audit Committee for the Sovereign Grant. A qualified Chartered Accountant, she trained at KPMG where she was appointed partner in 1988, a position she held for 17 years. During that time she led the firm’s international expatriate practice and was a member of the international board that ran the global tax practice. Leslie is also a Trustee of the Diocese of Westminster, was previously a Non-Executive member of the HMRC Risk and Audit Committee and served as Treasurer to TRH The Prince of Wales and Duchess of Cornwall from 2005 to 2012.

Sandy Gumm

(Non-Executive Director)

Sandy Gumm, 52, BEc, CA (ANZ) is an Australian-qualified Chartered Accountant with over 25 years’ experience and is Chief Operating Officer of Prestbury Investments LLP, Investment Adviser to the Group.  She qualified as a chartered accountant in 1992 and worked for KPMG for nine years in Sydney and London before becoming Group Financial Controller of Burford Holdings Plc in 1995.  She was Finance Director at the time that Prestbury Group Plc was established in 1997 and became Chief Operating Officer of its successor company, Prestbury Investment Holdings Limited, and of Prestbury Investments LLP in 2007.

Jonathan Lane

(Independent Non-Executive Director, Chairman of the Nominations Committee)

Jonathan Lane, 61, MA, is a Senior Adviser to Morgan Stanley and Chairman of EMEA Real Estate Investment Banking (“REIB”). He joined Morgan Stanley in 1999 where he served as Managing Director and co-head of REIB. Jonathan is Chairman of the Board of Grosvenor Europe, a member of the Policy Committee of the British Property Federation, a member of the Bank of England’s Commercial Property Forum, and a Director and Trustee of the Tenebrae Choir, where he chairs the Development Board.  He was formerly a member of the UK Government’s Property Unit Advisory Panel, a member of the Advisory Board of Resolution Real Estate Advisors LLP and a Non-Executive Director of Songbird Estates Plc. He holds a masters degree in Biochemistry from the University of Oxford and is a member of the Advisory Board of the University’s Oxford Programme for the Future of Cities.

Nick Leslau

(Non-Executive Director)

Nick Leslau, 60, BSc (Hons) Est Man, FRICS, is Chairman of Prestbury Investments LLP, Investment Adviser to the Group. He is a Chartered Surveyor who has been Chairman and Chief Executive of Prestbury Investment Holdings Limited since it commenced business in 2000 and Chairman of Prestbury Investments LLP since its establishment in 2006. He was Chief Executive of Burford Holdings Plc for approximately ten years up to 1997 and Group Chairman and Chief Executive of Prestbury Group Plc from 2008. He has sat on many quoted and unquoted company boards including, most recently, Max Property Group Plc, and is a member of the Bank of England Property Forum.

Ian Marcus

(Independent Non-Executive Director, Senior Independent Director, Chairman of the Remuneration Committee)

Ian Marcus, 60, MA, FRICS, is the Senior Non-Executive Director of The Crown Estate, the Senior Non-Executive Director of Town Centre Securities Plc and the Lead Independent Director of Shurgard Self Storage SA. He is a Senior Adviser to Eastdil Secured, a member of Redevco NV’s Advisory Board and a Trustee of The Prince’s Foundation. He is also Senior Advisor to Elysian Residences Limited and Work.Life, a member of the Real Estate Advisory Board of the Department of Land Economy at the University of Cambridge, President of Cambridge University Land Society and is a Member of the European Advisory Board of the Wharton Business School Real Estate Faculty. Ian has formerly been Chairman of the Bank of England’s Commercial Property Forum, Chairman of The Prince’s Regeneration Trust and Managing Director and Chairman of the European Real Estate Investment Banking division of Credit Suisse. He is a past president of the British Property Federation and a past Chairman of the Investment Property Forum.